The Lydiard St North Heritage Trail explore the urban heritage of this area that sits over the many layers of cultural heritage and history of Ballarat.
The Lydiard St North Heritage Trail explore the urban heritage of this area that sits over the many layers of cultural heritage and history of Ballarat.
Start at the Art Gallery of Ballarat 40-48 Lydiard Street North, Ballarat and finish on the corner of Macarthur and Lydiards Street Soldiers Hill. The walk is 1km and the paved footpaths with modest elevation rise and several road crossings. You will walk pass 8 points of interested documented in the heritage trail.
4784 Views
The Art Gallery of Ballarat is the oldest and largest regional art gallery in Australia, and represents a tangible beginning for the city’s strong tradition of philanthropy in the arts
The level crossing gates at Lydiard Street North are the gateway to Soldiers Hill and form part of the significant Ballarat Railway Station complex
Currently an antique store, it was formerly a furniture and cabinet making business run by Angus Linklater for several decades. Among the site’s earliest occupants was during the 1860s .
‘Oberon’ is a Victorian Freestyle Terrace House built by a former Mayor of Ballarat, Thomas Houlden Thompson in 1894. Mr Thompson never lived in the residence
The imposing ‘Ballarat Terrace’ comprises three two-storey homes, constructed for Mr Hugh Raverty in 1889 at a cost of £5000 to £6000 each, on the site of the old Presbyterian manse grounds.
Built in 1895, the Queen Anne style house called ‘Coupar Angus’ was once the home of Euphemia Baker, widow of Captain Henry Evans Baker, he became one of the most notable telescope builders.
Perched at the intersection of Lydiard and Seymour Streets is one of Ballarat’s earliest hotels. Built in 1857, Tucked around the corner on Seymour Street is the former Hope Bakery.
The café at 313 Lydiard Street is the latest in over 100 years of businesses operating from these commercial premises, servicing the Soldiers Hill community.
Built in the late-1860s, this striking Victorian villa ‘Yeadon’ has had many prominent owners. Former Mayor of Ballarat, Thomas Houlden Thompson, lived here between 1892 and 1900.
415 Lydiard Street North Built in 1890, designed by local architects Figgis and Molloy, it is a fine example of a Victoria Academic Gothic church.
The corner of Lydiard and Macarthur Streets has been a vibrant hub for business since the late 19th century. It was here in 1895 that Cleghorn Bros operated its chaff cutter business at 302 Lydiard