Explore Elmore - short version - is a self-guided walking tour highlighting natural historical and architectural points of interest in the centre of this small North Central Victorian town.
Explore Elmore - short version - is a self-guided walking tour highlighting natural, historical and architectural points of interest in the centre of the picturesque North Central Victorian town. Details for this walk have been generously provided by The Elmore Progress Association Museum and The HV McKay Rural Discovery Centre - Campaspe Run.
Concrete footpaths DO NOT extend throughout this walk.
Elmore’s tribute to the Sunshine Harvester, early pioneers and the sheep and grain industries. Campaspe Run is home to Elmore’s Community Quilt and has a fabulous gift shop. Open 7 days a week.
The Overhead Bridge was opened on June 16 1928 (costing £454 to build) and removed Nov 24 1980. It was sold to the Elmore Progress Association and today links Campaspe Run and the EPA Museum.
Built in 1870 to supply water to steam trains, the 18'x15' tower was made from locally made bricks. Water was pumped from the Campaspe River. The tower was donated to the EPA in 1972.
Opened 1870, originally named Runnymede Railway Station, the station was renamed Elmore Railway Station in 1876. The Queen travelled by train through Elmore on her 1954 tour.
Situated in the Railway Station Buildings, this volunteer run Museum is free and well worth a visit. Open Wednesdays from 9.30-2.
One of four signs installed as an initiative of the Elmore Progress Association. This sign features a photo of Cardwell St including the original Victoria Hotel.
Gazetted as the main street. Named after Rt. Hon. Edward Cardwell, Secretary of State for the Colonies, 1864. Traffic flow altered when a new bridge was built & Margaret St was constructed in the 60s.
This double story building on the South side of the street is now privately owned and operates as Elmore Old Wares.
Wander down Cardwell Street and learn about some of the historic buildings by reading the plaques. The Elmore Plaque Project is an initiative funded by property owners.
This store was established in 1893 and traded as a general store until 1982. Today, Parson’s Store is used as a display area, storage and workroom for the Elmore Miniature Railway.
Named after Hon. Sir Archibald Michie, MLC, MLA, Attorney-General.
Built in 1885 for £800, & opened in 1886, the Athenaeum Hall was designed by W.C. Vahland & built by Mr G. Galbraith.
This former Methodist Church, built in 1874, was purchased as the Scout Hall in 1983.
The Michie Street Play Space features play equipment, drink fountain, seating, shade sails and a lush lawn space at the rear.
Named after John Clarke, owner of Boramboot or Stewart’s Plains station from 1850-1852.
Originally St Andrew’s Presbyterian Church (WC Vahland design) opened June 18 1899, the Uniting Church was formed by an amalgamation of Methodist and Presbyterian Churches in 1969.
The Preschool was built as an Infant Welfare Centre (circa 1960s) and extended as a Preschool in 1972.
In 1920 it was proposed to build a Memorial to the local service men of World War 1 & provide work for some returned service men. The information board provides greater detail.
The Fire Station was opened on September 26 1972, replacing the one in Railway Place (1910-1972). The former site is now known as Progress Park near the Raywood Road Rail Crossing.
The current Station was built recently to replace the former station, opened in 1968. Before this time, the Police Station was situated diagonally across the intersection, now a private residence.
The building next to the Police Station was built as the Law Courts but is now privately owned and used as a Solicitors and Accountants office.
Used to store the town’s water supply (pumped from the Campaspe). The pumping station was on rails to move up the bank in times of flood. The station also produced the town’s electricity until 1948.
Originally a Coffee Palace & later James’s Bakery which was well known as the place for lovely bread fresh from the oven. This building (South side of Cardwell St) is now a private residence.
Named after the Jeffrey brothers who owned Burnewang Station from 1852 to 1867.
The Campaspe River rises in the Kyneton area & enters The River Murray at Echuca. Lake Eppalock (constructed by State Rivers & Water Supply Commission of Victoria 1961-64) is situated on the Campaspe.
The Elmore Progress Association in conjunction with the City of Greater Bendigo are currently creating a natural play space on a former playground site. Drink fountain, seating and parking available.
The Campaspe River Walking Track meanders alongside the captivating Campaspe River. Dotted along the track are information boards which highlight the unique attributes of this stretch of the river.
The Avenue of pepper trees between the Campaspe River Bridge and Childers Street along Campaspe Street was planted on August 10 1898. The trees were donated by the Elmore Water Trust.
The Catholic Church donated the triangle land (junction of Campaspe & Jeffrey Streets) to the former Shire of Huntly to build flats for Senior Citizens.
The Church (WC Vahland design) was built in 1904. The Presbytery is next door.
The Elmore Senior Citizens Clubrooms were built in 1973.
An Elm tree (which has since been removed) had a circular seat placed around it and was known as Brummy’s Seat after Mr Bremner, blacksmith & Fire Brigade Captain, who loved to smoke his pipe there.
Cardwell Street was the original main street, but with the construction of the new bridge & Margaret St, traffic flow changed & Railway Place/Northern Highway became the new main street.
Built on the site of the Cohuna Goods yard, the Elmore Miniature Railway (EMR) line extends for 1.5kms, with the EMR station situated at Apex Park.
Situated in the centre of town between the Railway station & Campaspe Run, the Play Space has lush lawns, parking, public toilets, picnic tables and a BBQ. A great space to enjoy a picnic.