This walk highlights the buildings remaining from the Mont Park Asylum complex, which was established in this area from about 1910. Doctors, nurses and patients lived within these beautiful gardens.
From 1902 to 1996, this land and establishments were owned and run by Victorian government, as the location of the Mont Park hospitals and asylum. Over time Larundel and Plenty hospitals and various other health, aged care, mental health, psychiatric and war veteran treatment, care and rehabilitation facilities were established.
A few heritage buildings remain, and these have been mainly conserved and utilised by La Trobe University, although some are private apartments.
The unique phalanx of the 12 wards of the ‘Chronic Block’ still remain, one hundred years after their construction between 1915 and 1917. Behind them looms a very tall brick chimney. This is the starting point for the Walk.
Near the Point of Interest #3, the old Laundry Workers Block, is the Ernest Jones Reserve. A very steep railway track from Macleod station transported coal, wood and provisions for the Mont Park and Larundel hospitals to about this point. The line was closed in about 1964.
The unique phalanx of the 12 wards of the Chronic Block still remain, one hundred years after their construction between 1915 and 1917. They have neat patterned windows and tiled recessed verandas.
In 1930, a combined Church and Recreation Hall was built in a white Spanish Mission style as a memorial to Dr W. Ernest Jones. This Hall replaced the site's facility burnt down in February 1925.
Built in 1913 this can now be identified, as the red brick building of apartments nestled amongst suburban houses on Ernest Jones Drive. It originally served as Plenty Hospital Wards E and F.
The Female Convalescent Block was built in 1939 - this is now Kingsbury Gardens Apartments at 130 Main Drive. At one stage these were Ward D of Plenty Hospital.
On Springthorpe Drive is BM La Trobe House, an impressive rendered cream building which housed the Mont Park ‘New Hospital Block’ built in 1926. It has an imposing two storeys and central entrance.
This was built in 1912 and sits back from the intersection of Terrace Way and Springthorpe Drive and was initially used for quiet female patients from the Yarra Bend asylum.
At the entrance to the Springthorpe Estate and built in 1923, is the old Nurses' Home with the tiny Matron’s Flat at one end. Two palm trees grow out the front.
In 1919, the Mont Park Landscape Gardener Hugh Linaker was responsible for helping the hospitalised WWI veterans plant 75 sugar gum trees commemorating their fellow soldiers killed in WWI.
This tall brick chimney served the kitchen coal-fired boiler. On the path you will see remnants of the narrow service rail track used to transport laundry between the Chronic Wards.