Come and enjoy a very local history walk in the most peaceful of surroundings. This short loop walk along Strathbogie's Main Street takes you to significant sites from the town's near 150 year past.
Come and enjoy a very local history walk in the most peaceful of surroundings. This short loop walk along Strathbogie's Main Street takes you to significant sites from the town's near 150 year past.
Just two hours out of Melbourne, perched high on Strathbogie Tableland, sits the attractive small rural township of Strathbogie. It is the only town on this beautiful large north central Victorian plateau of mountains and rolling hills. It is steeped in 150 years of history.
The Strathbogie Tableland History Group has provided locals and visitors with the chance to walk and imagine living in the past through interpretive historical marker signs along the Main Street. Each tells the story of its location and Tableland life in clearly expressed text and historic images. It is like walking your way through a history book.
The walk also includes other attractive features. The location and scenery are marvellous. The town is surrounded by bushland, farmland and permanent flowing waterways with accompanying walking tracks . Wildlife such as koalas, echidnas, wallabies and kangaroos may be encountered. There are swimming holes, fishing holes and golf holes for further recreation.
Refreshments can be purchased from the very popular Strathbogie Store. There are seats, sheltered and unsheltered picnic facilities, public drinking water and toilets available. There is a also a nearby playground.
Other walks nearby:
Bridge to Bridge walk
Polly's walk
Mt Wombat Lookout walk
Rocky Ned Lookout walk
Balmattum Hill walk
Gooram Falls walk
710 Views
Opened with a Gala Ball attended by 1,000 people, the Memorial Hall remains a centre of community activity to this day.
In 1920, golf began in Strathbogie here. The Club was official from 1924. Until 1932, the General Store verandah opposite was used as a club house. Today, there are 18 great holes just down the road.
Work began on the Co-Operative Store in 1902. This has been the site of a General Store ever since. The original weatherboard building has been replaced with the brick building present today.
The first Butter Factory was located here. It burnt down in 1907, was rebuilt and burnt down again in 1936.
This workshop is of one of the most complete, and therefore historic, original Blacksmith's in Victoria. The neighbouring residence built in the same decade was later a lolly shop.
The original weatherboard church on this site burnt down after the bakery next door caught fire in 1919. The current building replaced it in 1922.
This Orangemen Lodge was called "Mountjoy Loyal Orange Lodge". It was later the town's first public hall, then a garage with petrol bowsers and then a cafe/restaurant. It is now a private residence.
The original church sited here was moved from Strathbogie West in 1895. It was sold in 1984.
The first church and postal services started here. The store was later combined with a Hotel. Stabling and sale yards were available. Fire destroyed the Hotel 4 times, finally in 1956.
Strathbogie's third successive sale yards site, this one operated until 1976. The location was also the site of the first Strathbogie church service, held under a large gum tree in the late 1880s.
The Post Office built here took over the service from Graham's Store. Also a branch of the Commonwealth Bank, it was speculated by "The Age" that it might have been the smallest Bank in Victoria.
The War Memorial commemorates those from the Tableland who died in the Great War 1914-1918.
Japanese wool buyers Toyobo Co. paid tribute to the high quality of Strathbogie's fine Merino wool by erecting this statue.